you're reading...
FOOD 食品, FUKUSHIMA 福島, TESTIMONIES

Can I eat my cabbage ?

This is a story that dates from last winter but was brought to my attention once again by my friends Yukari Steinwedel and Nagi Wind. It is a rather disturbing story and events that still occur today. Please, read to the end.  <日本>following

fukushima_food_check

Can I eat my cabbage ?

I am a temporary worker who measures the radioactive concentration of food products at a radiation measuring place for people who grow their own food.

Today, an old lady came here, and she said “People told me to come here. Would you please measure my napa cabbage ?”

She was very polite and a decent person like all old Japanese.

“I’m sorry, I brought a big napa cabbage and didn’t cut it into small pieces. I was told that I am meant to prepare it in an approved manner.” she said.

This was her first time.
We must not cut her napa cabbage in small pieces by ourselves. So we crushed it in the container and measured it. After three hours, the Old Lady returned. She bowed her head more than once and asked us whether her napa cabbage was safe or not.
Fortunately, answer was “ND” so I told her that this napa cabbage was “ND”
But she did’t understand the meaning of “ND”, so I tried again and again to explain to her what “ND” means. She had no understanding of “Becquerel” nor “Sievert”.
Finally, she just asked me the same question that most ask…
“Can we eat it?”

Our instrument can only measure γ-rays. We cannot measure α-rays and β-rays.
It was impossible to explain that we didn’t measure α or β
So I said to her, “ Grandma! This napa cabbage’s measuring is LOW! LOW! It’s a low Cesium”
The Old lady had a big smile and must have had a good feeling.

 

Then, she asked “Everything’s going to be all right, isn’t it? It will be OK for my grandkids to eat my napa cabbage, right?”
I found it very difficult to answer…
I didn’t know how to explain to her about Radioactivity…
So I started to explain to her. Thirty minutes…probably she didn’t get it.

 
The Old lady was crying.
She said “I live alone, nobody tells me anything and even though sometimes TV show says ‘It’s OK’ and there is ‘No problem’ , I couldn’t trust them all.”

 
But she had great confidence in my explanation and shook my hands for an eternity while she kept crying.
And she said “Thank you for taking such good care of me. I’ve never taken kindness of heart like you’re doing.”
“Grandma! I wish for you to live a long and healthy life. Keep smiling!” I replied.

 

I was totally speechless, then I cried beside old woman ‘Grandma’
After a short time, she smiled me back and then she said “It just feels good to be alive now.”
“But I wanted to give many vegetables I made for my grand kids during my life.”

 

Japan, What are you doing?

わたしは、放射線の食品測定所の臨時職員です。

今日も、ある、ばあちゃんが来た。
ひと伝えに・・・

とても、丁寧な、昔の方だよ

白菜を大きく切って持ってきたんだ。

本当だったら、小さく切らなければいけないけど

私らが、それを切っちゃダメなんで
それを、容器に押しつぶして
測ったよ。

ばあちゃんは、
三時間後、
頭を深々と頭を下げて
測定所に入ってきたよ

お世話になりますって言ってね

幸いにも、その白菜は
NDだった。

そういった。

でも、
その意味がわからないんだ

何度か
ここで そのことは話したよ

ベクレルもシーベルトも
わからないんだ。

いつもの通りの言葉が
口から、こぼれた・・・・

「食べても大丈夫ですか?」ってね

γ線しか測れてないからさ

ストロンチウムのこと
話そうと思ったけど

話せんかったよ

「おばあちゃん、低いよ
この野菜!
セシウム、低い!」

ばあちゃんは、にっこり笑った。

「孫に食べさせても大丈夫ですか?」

答えられない・・・・

わからない

だから、放射線の話をした。

30分。

おそらく、意味、わかんないと思う。

でもさ、

そのばあちゃん

泣いてたんだ。

一人暮らしで、

誰も何も教えてくれないって・・・

テレビでは、大丈夫だって言ってるけど

信用できなかったって。

でも、でも、わたしの話を聞いて

ばあちゃん泣いてた。

こんなに、親切に教えてもらったこと無いって・・・

手、合して・・・・

拝んでたよ

私を・・・・・・。

「長生きしなきゃ、おばあちゃん、」

言葉がないよ

泣いたよ

ばあちゃんといっしょにさ

何してんだよ
<日本>

Thank you for Nagi Wind Yukari Steinwedel

Live from Lalaland

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Evacuate on Facebook

Evacuate on Twitter

Our friends around the world

Map

Fukushima Network 福島ネットワーク

_____________________________

Kiikochan Blog ♪

____________________________

DISSENSUS JAPAN

_____________________________

Nanohana ナノハナ

____________________________

Documenting Ian

____________________________

MASA FUKUSHIMA REPORT

____________________________

Echo News エコーニュース

____________________________

EXSKF

_____________________________

SAVE KIDS JAPAN

___________________________

World Network Save Children From Radiation

____________________________

OUR PLANET-TV

____________________________

Koiichi Ooyama

____________________________

Yukio Hayakawa 早川由紀夫

____________________________

ACRO

____________________________

CRMS

_____________________________

HAKETTE

____________________________

SAFECAST

____________________________

CRIIRAD

____________________________

CNIC 原子力資料情報室

_____________________________

